How to automatically reconnect with Easyble.js

Ask, and ye shall receive.
biczak

How to automatically reconnect with Easyble.js

Postby biczak » 20:33, 04 Oct 2015

I am using a device that every time it is used, it very briefly shuts off BLE before turning it back on. This process takes about 1 second, but in that time it disconnects from my app. However, I can not seem to find a working method that has my app automatically reconnect to the device. So I'm wondering how
1) Do I let my app know that the device is no longer connected, or is that automatic?
and
2) How do I get the app to start scanning only when the device disconnects?

I'm new to this whole thing so if you could be as detailed as possible I would very much appreciate it!

micke

Re: How to automatically reconnect with Easyble.js

Postby micke » 11:51, 05 Oct 2015

Hi, here is a way to do what you are asking, some "pseudo-code" that scans and connects to a device with known name or address, then connects again when disconnected.

Code: Select all

function startScanning()
{
    // Stop any ongoing scan.
    evothings.easyble.stopScan()

// Start scanning.
    evothings.easyble.startScan(deviceFound, scanError)
}

function deviceFound(device)
{
    // Log device name and address to the Workbench Tools window.
    hyper.log('Found devices: ' + device.name + ' ' + device.address)

// Connect to the device with a given name or address.
    // TODO: Use one of these methods to identify the device, insert
    // actual name or address printed to log. (First run the app to
    // determine value of name/address for your device.)
    if ('myname' == devices.name)
    //if ('myaddress' == devices.address)
    {
        evothings.easyble.stopScan()

// TODO: Connect to device.   
    }
}

function scanError(error)
{
    if (evothings.easyble.error.DISCONNECTED == error)
    {
        // Scan and connect again (wait a second to be safe, might not be needed).
        setTimeout(startScanning, 1000)
    }
}