Uncaught TypeError: cannot call method 'stopScan' of 'undefined' source: file:///android_asset/www/app.js

Ask, and ye shall receive.
cavalcantejean

Uncaught TypeError: cannot call method 'stopScan' of 'undefined' source: file:///android_asset/www/app.js

Postby cavalcantejean » 16:14, 15 Jul 2015

Hello everyone,
I am new to evothings but I used the BLE Scan example to make an android app with cordova to activate the bluetooth and list the active devices. But when I click on "Start Scan". It shows me the following message in the android logcat on Eclipse:

Fredrik
Site Admin

Re: Uncaught TypeError: cannot call method 'stopScan' of 'undefined' source: file:///android_asset/www/app.js

Postby Fredrik » 15:13, 21 Jul 2015

I suspect that the BLE plugin is missing. Add it by running this command:

cordova plugin add https://github.com/evothings/cordova-ble

abstractUser

Re: Uncaught TypeError: cannot call method 'stopScan' of 'undefined' source: file:///android_asset/www/app.js

Postby abstractUser » 08:37, 19 Sep 2015

Hello:

I'm encountering a similar problem. I've installed the ble plugin.

To summarize the problem.
1. The app runs perfectly well when run from the Evothings client app.
2. The cordova built app works otherwise fine but for the functionality when a bluetooth connection is requested.
3. When a connection is requested, evothings.rfduinoble.close() is called, which in turn calls evothings.easyble.stopScan(), which in turn calls evothings.ble.stopScan().
4. Where is this last function i.e, evothings.ble.stopScan(), as the error occurs at this stage.
5. ble.js that comes with the plugin does not have the definition of this function.

So perhaps, we are missing something.

Thank you.

Fredrik
Site Admin

Postby Fredrik » 12:53, 22 Sep 2015

ble.js contains "exports.stopScan". The "exports" part gets converted by cordova to "evothings.ble".